Skip To Main Content


Union County Educational Services Commission (UCESC) is a public, non-profit agency located in Westfield, New Jersey. It was established in June, 1969 to provide educational programs and services in response to the needs of the students, parents, faculty and administration of its 21 member school districts. 

The concept of an Educational Services Commission was created when the superintendents of twelve public school districts in Union County recognized that many state and federally mandated educational services could be delivered in a more cost-effective manner when done so on a coordinated, countywide basis. 

The superintendents proposed legislation to design and govern an agency capable of supporting the evolving educational needs of county school districts. As a result, the New Jersey State Legislature adopted laws in 1967 authorizing the creation of Educational Services Commissions (NJSA 18A:6-53) et seq. 

Union County Educational Services Commission has been successful in realizing its mission over the past four decades. The Commission operates two alternative high schools and three schools for students with disabilities. It directs an Alternative Interim Educational Program and a Special Needs Career Academy within the Union County Vo-Tech School. UCESC teachers provide bedside and remedial instruction to students at hospitals, rehabilitation facilities, psychiatric programs and detention centers located throughout Union County. 

In addition, Union County ESC provides state-mandated services to over 4000 students enrolled in 70 Nonpublic Schools These programs include: Compensatory Education, Supplemental Instruction, Speech-Language Therapy, English as a Second Language (ESL) Instruction, Child Study Team services, Home Instruction and School Nursing Services. 

Other services provided to school districts include cooperative purchasing; coordinated transportation services; staff development; grant writing and assistance in meeting compliance with state and federal mandates. 

UCESC is governed by a Representative Assembly consisting of one appointed Board of Education member from each of its 21 member public school districts. In June of each year, the Representative Assembly elects a Board of Directors comprised of no less than 15 of its members. 

Union County ESC has no local tax base and receives no state or federal aid. All programs and services are funded through tuition and fees paid by member school districts. Additional income is derived from local, state and federal grants. 

Union County Educational Services Commission

45 Cardinal Drive, Westfield, NJ 07090
Phone 908-233-9317 | Fax 908-233-7432